Australian Flute Society Header

About Us - -


A Brief History of Australia's National Flute Organisation

The Australian Flute Association was formed at an inaugural meeting held in Sydney on Sunday, September 20th, 1981, after preliminary discussions had been held during the 4th Australian Flute Convention held in Canberra at Easter, 1980. The steering committee for this was chaired by Linda Vogt, A.M.

The Australian Flute Society is proud to have Linda Vogt and Sir Charles Mackerras as Patrons of the society

The Australian Flute Association

Replaced the Australian Flute Convention Advisory and Co-ordinating Committee, which had been formed at Easter 1975 in Melbourne.
The Australian Flute Association became a company on March 18th, 1987.
The Australian Flute Society Inc. came into existence on September 1st, 1997, an administrative change to take advantage of the lower maintenance costs of an incorporated entity over a Limited company.

The AFS structure

All Australian Flute Societies and Guilds are eligible to join the Australian Flute Society Inc. and pay an annual levy. Each Flute Society or Guild that joins the Australian Flute Society Inc. elects two representatives to attend annual general meetings of the Australian Flute Society Inc. These members are responsible for reporting back to their respective Flute Society or Guild about matters pertaining to the Australian Flute Society Inc.

The Australian Flute Society committee currently consists of:
President,Secretary, Treasurer and two representatives from each state society. Nominations for office bearers are accepted from any member of the Australian flute community and the election is held at the Societies Annual General Meeting. If you are interested in nominating a person or helping with the society yourself please communicate with us via the guest book, the chat board, Email to the secretary or by post to the address below.

The Australian Flute Society Inc postal address:

The President
The Australian Flute Society Inc.
26 Bolingbroke Grove
Toorak Gardens
SA 5065